Umpires at leeds test between India and england in 1986 allowed RAMAN LAMBA to field but then sent him back. what was the goof-up ?
#27979. Asked by yngupta. (Feb 11 03 10:54 AM)
Friar Tuck says:
Raman Lamba (as a 12th man) was substituting K. Srikanth. He forgot to go back to pavilion even after Srikanth was back on to the field. Meanwhile India was having 12 fielders on the field for a complete one over.
Tue Feb 11 07:06:26 CST 2003
I bet he would have prefered not to have been on the field 30 years later due to his untimely death on the playing field in a league match in Dhaka in 1998. Having moved up to forward short leg for the last ball of the over, Lamba took a fatal blow on the head from Mehrab Hossain. It was a disaster waiting to happen in the days of unhelmeted short leg fieldsmen and an irony that while the likes of Brian Close went unharmed, the first casualty had to occur in an era where protective equipment was freely available.
Tue Feb 11 07:10:18 CST 2003
I do apologise for the terrible wording and atrocious maths in the two earlier replies. It was not 30 years but 12 years later. I had 1968 in my brain when I typed it.
Tue Feb 11 07:12:43 CST 2003 (Reposted as one entry - McG)
Feb 19 03, 7:52 AM
Find something useful here? Please help us spread the word about FunTrivia. Recommend this page below!
"Ask FunTrivia" is for entertainment purposes only, and answers offered are unverified and unchecked by
FunTrivia. We cannot guarantee the accuracy or veracity of ANY statement posted. Feel free to post an updated
if you feel that an answer is inadequate or incorrect. Please
thoroughly research items where accuracy is important to you using multiple reliable sources. By accessing our
website, you agree to be bound by our terms of service.