In American Football, when an onside kick goes out of bounds where is the ball placed?
#42366. Asked by cecilbmoore. (Dec 16 03 12:18 AM)
First onside kick that is illegally touched or goes out of bounds illegally, rekick with a 5-yard penalty. For second onside kick that is illegally touched or goes out of bounds illegally, the receiving team is awarded the ball at the spot of illegal touch or out of bounds spot.
In another move, the league changed the rules involving onside kicks in the final five minutes of games. And on Tuesday, the league changed its policy for selecting postseason officials.
On onside kicks in the past, if a ball did not go 10 yards, went out of bounds, or was touched illegally, the kicking team was penalized, but had a chance to kick again from five yards back. McKay said that while that was rewarding a team for an illegal play, coaches wanted it retained; the coaches feared teams would stop trying surprise onside kicks.
Under the new rule, the receiving team will have the option of accepting the penalty and getting the ball immediately -- without the kicking team having a second chance to try an onside kick.
It finally passed when it was amended to cover only the final five minutes, when a trailing team often tries to get back in the game by getting another possession through an onside kick.