That wasn't too hard to swallow was it?
Apparently the first use of the Mothes and Dublanc's capsules in 1834 was to hide the nasty tastes of medicines. http://www.pharmpedia.com/Capsules
The telescoping capsules we get nowadays appeared in 1848.
Of course, gelatine has to be made from animal proteins, so I presume vegetarians would have to avoid capsules or find more expensive ones made using gelatine substitutes like hypromellose.
Feb 08 07, 10:08 PM
Hypromellose is NOW a common ingredient in "Tear" type eye drops.
Do not use "Gets the Red Out" type with Tetrahydrazoline. It is a vasoconstrictor that does nothing but harm in the long run!
"Ask FunTrivia" is for entertainment purposes only, and answers offered are unverified and unchecked by
FunTrivia. We cannot guarantee the accuracy or veracity of ANY statement posted. Feel free to post an updated
if you feel that an answer is inadequate or incorrect. Please
thoroughly research items where accuracy is important to you using multiple reliable sources. By accessing our
website, you agree to be bound by our terms of service.