| monan828
|
well, that's a new one. Thanks for bringing it to attention.
Reply #1. Jul 27 12, 3:28 PM
|
| lesley153
|
The email appeared to come from Help Needed(her name), on email address CompanyName@btinternet.com, but replies would go to CompanyName@yahoo.co.uk.
I didn't know she was planning to go there, with or without family, or think that was a place she'd be tempted to go. I did think she writes better English than whoever wrote this.
Best of all, there was a red warning banner telling me:
"Be careful with this message. The sender's account may be compromised, so this message could be a scam to steal personal information."
I rang her up and asked "How are you and where are you?" She laughed and said she was fine, she wasn't in Dubai - she was in Cambridge. She also said that the company no longer exists.
So, if you get something like this, don't think twice about ignoring it. If you've already had one like it... looks like I'm last... again!
Reply #2. Jul 27 12, 3:35 PM
|
| lesley153
|
Thanks, monan - I am not alone! :)
Reply #3. Jul 27 12, 3:35 PM
|
satguru
|
I got one of these from one of the few Facebook friends I'd no idea who it was, then she came up on messenger and carried on, I tried to trip her up and after about half an hour (it seemed like it anyway) she gave up and flounced off in a huff. There were a few mutual friends or I wouldn't have added her, and turned out none of them were sure who she was either. As I don't hand money over to strangers full stop she was knocking on the wrong door, and the story was impossible anyway as she couldn't have had the internet/computers etc had her story been true either.
Reply #4. Jul 28 12, 6:38 PM
|
|
4 replies. On page 1 of
1 page(s).
1
|
Legal / Conditions of Use
|