Rules
Terms of Use

Topic Options
#1044587 - Mon May 05 2014 04:10 AM Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets?
Chavs Offline
Prolific

Registered: Fri Jul 15 2011
Posts: 1125
Loc: Ireland
When playing on an android tablet, I can play the mixed quizzes in the timed quiz mode, but I am not offered the option to play player-created quizzes in the same format. Why?

I am confused about what I can and cannot do on the mini tablet - I was told I couldn't rate New Questions because my screen isn't big enough, for example, and I presume this means FT thinks I am on a phone? I think my screen is big enough! Toggling the enable/exit mobile mode seems to make no difference.

Is there a tablet/android version on the way soon? The mobile version is useless for me when on a tablet as it offers limited access, as far as I can see, but I use my bookmarks to access the site and can get fuller access, so it's not that the device can't handle it.

Playing in quiz mode is most definitely possible on this device, just not offered to me.

Maybe I am doing something wrong? But what? Helping a technofool like me gets you into heaven faster would be gratefully appreciated. Thank you!


Edited by Chavs (Mon May 05 2014 04:13 AM)

Top
#1044623 - Mon May 05 2014 10:47 AM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
pmarney Offline
Forum Adept

Registered: Thu May 10 2012
Posts: 187
Loc: Norfolk England UK            
Works fine on my iPad.

smile
_________________________
I am so clever that sometimes I don't understand a single word of what I am saying.

Top
#1044628 - Mon May 05 2014 01:03 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
Chavs Offline
Prolific

Registered: Fri Jul 15 2011
Posts: 1125
Loc: Ireland
Then what the heck can I be doing wrong? shocked

I'm using a Nexus 7, is there a way I can get quiz mode to operate on it? Anyone?


Edited by Chavs (Mon May 05 2014 01:10 PM)

Top
#1044629 - Mon May 05 2014 01:31 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19000
Loc: USA
Can you try now Chavs? It thought it was a phone... I just made a fix that should work?

Top
#1044630 - Mon May 05 2014 01:32 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
Chavs Offline
Prolific

Registered: Fri Jul 15 2011
Posts: 1125
Loc: Ireland
It works!!! Thank you so much.

Top
#1044631 - Mon May 05 2014 01:33 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19000
Loc: USA
cool, ive never tested the interface on an android tablet... all look good?

Top
#1044632 - Mon May 05 2014 01:35 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
Chavs Offline
Prolific

Registered: Fri Jul 15 2011
Posts: 1125
Loc: Ireland
Looks fabulous so far.

Top
#1044633 - Mon May 05 2014 01:39 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
salami_swami Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Thu Nov 01 2007
Posts: 8760
Loc: Colorado USA
Now my iPad is dong things to me. I was doing fine, then I clicked quizzes and it took me to the mobile version of the homepage. I disabled the mobile screen and it took me home. Then I clicked quizzes, and it took me back to the mobile home screen, but it thinks I'm on the full version, as it only has the option to enable mobile mode. I try to click the home page and it takes me here as well.

I can't even access the quizzes section as it just takes me to a mobile home page every time.
_________________________
"The only water in the forest is the River."

Editor: Video Games, Entertainment

Top
#1044634 - Mon May 05 2014 01:41 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
salami_swami Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Thu Nov 01 2007
Posts: 8760
Loc: Colorado USA
The weird part is that it is different than my phone shows it, too. I still have the bit on the top right that shows my name, mailbox, and all that.
_________________________
"The only water in the forest is the River."

Editor: Video Games, Entertainment

Top
#1044635 - Mon May 05 2014 01:48 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
Chavs Offline
Prolific

Registered: Fri Jul 15 2011
Posts: 1125
Loc: Ireland
By the way, my drop down menus don't work-- should they? They didn't when I was on the mobile setting either. I can live without that, but just mentioning it seeing as we are here.


(Sorry salami. That's what was happening to me before. Maybe Terry is switching buttons as we speak!)


Edited by Chavs (Mon May 05 2014 01:53 PM)

Top
#1044640 - Mon May 05 2014 01:58 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19000
Loc: USA
Working now salami?

Chavs: what precisely do you mean? Do the pull down menus appear? What happens if you press on one of them? They certainly work on ipad.

Top
#1044642 - Mon May 05 2014 02:06 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
Chavs Offline
Prolific

Registered: Fri Jul 15 2011
Posts: 1125
Loc: Ireland
When I try to open a pull down menu, it appears very briefly then disappears (before there is time to select anything on the list, or even read it), and I am left on this page: http://www.funtrivia.com/null


------------------

Update:

It could just be my fault or the way this device operates? If I tap to open the drop down menus on the home page then the above happens, but if I press and hold to open the menus then my device offers me options (save link, copy link, open in a new tab etc. The link that is copied/saved/opened in a new tab is, however, the same one as above: null), after I choose an option, the menu then stays dropped down and I can select something from it and it works perfectly, linking me to the desired game.

I might be a witch.


Edited by Chavs (Mon May 05 2014 02:38 PM)

Top
#1044644 - Mon May 05 2014 02:09 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
salami_swami Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Thu Nov 01 2007
Posts: 8760
Loc: Colorado USA
It's working again. Thanks Terry. smile
_________________________
"The only water in the forest is the River."

Editor: Video Games, Entertainment

Top
#1044646 - Mon May 05 2014 02:35 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
Nammage Offline
Enthusiast

Registered: Tue May 26 2009
Posts: 393
Loc: Florida USA
Um, what happened to mobile version? Is it now gone because of these changes?

-Nam
_________________________
I'm on the road less traveled...

Top
#1044647 - Mon May 05 2014 02:49 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
salami_swami Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Thu Nov 01 2007
Posts: 8760
Loc: Colorado USA
What device do you use, nam? Mine works on my iPhone still.
_________________________
"The only water in the forest is the River."

Editor: Video Games, Entertainment

Top
#1044649 - Mon May 05 2014 03:02 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: salami_swami]
Nammage Offline
Enthusiast

Registered: Tue May 26 2009
Posts: 393
Loc: Florida USA
Android.

There's not even an option for it. Not that it matters because when going out of mobile after going back to the main page from playing an hourly it reverts back to mobile. But now mobile is just gone on my phone.

-Nam


Edited by Nammage (Mon May 05 2014 03:02 PM)
_________________________
I'm on the road less traveled...

Top
#1044718 - Mon May 05 2014 08:35 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19000
Loc: USA
Fixed Nammage?

It's been tricky getting the android stuff to all work right.

Top
#1044837 - Tue May 06 2014 04:03 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
Nammage Offline
Enthusiast

Registered: Tue May 26 2009
Posts: 393
Loc: Florida USA
Android sucks, I know. Anyway, yeah it's back. Thanks.

-Nam
_________________________
I'm on the road less traveled...

Top
#1044885 - Wed May 07 2014 05:47 AM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
rossian Online   content
Moderator

Registered: Sat Jun 10 2006
Posts: 2184
Loc: Merseyside UK 
When you first changed everything, Terry, I was getting the standard page on my Samsung Android tablet, but now it's reverted to mobile mode. I just thought I'd let you know.
_________________________
Editor - Sci/Tech

Top
#1044938 - Wed May 07 2014 11:58 AM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19000
Loc: USA
Now rossian?

Top
#1044944 - Wed May 07 2014 12:11 PM Re: Why no timed quiz mode on android tablets? [Re: Chavs]
rossian Online   content
Moderator

Registered: Sat Jun 10 2006
Posts: 2184
Loc: Merseyside UK 
Yes. It's back, thanks, Terry.
_________________________
Editor - Sci/Tech

Top

Moderator:  Terry