Rules
Terms of Use

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#1171129 - Today at 11:13 AM Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19579
Loc: USA
Today we are starting the move to a brand new server... one that should be many times faster than our old one.
It should remove all server pauses.

In effect, we are moving into a new house, and I'm trying to get the moving trucks to put all the furniture in the right places.

Please use this thread to report any NEW ISSUES that you encounter today/tomorrow. In theory it should be seamless to you.

i.e. things that WERE working but now aren't, or things that just don't seem right all of a sudden.

Please do not use this thread for old, existing issues that we are aware of or feature requests.

Fingers crossed it goes smoothly...

Thanks!

** Crystal Ball is temporarily unavailable on the new server, as it doesn't coexist nicely with 2 servers running at once.


Edited by Terry (Today at 11:19 AM)

Top
#1171130 - Today at 11:23 AM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
MiraJane Online   confused
Prolific

Registered: Tue Apr 30 2013
Posts: 1213
Loc: New York USA
Ugh.
Ugh. Ugh. And double ugh.
Why? Because I'm in the midst of packing up and moving right now. It is a miserable thing to do!

Top
#1171134 - Today at 11:46 AM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
jasa9092 Offline
Explorer

Registered: Tue Dec 19 2006
Posts: 79
Loc: Illinois USA
I'm playing quizzes and after I rate them it takes me back to the homepage instead of "where I was".


Edited by jasa9092 (Today at 11:48 AM)

Top
#1171137 - Today at 12:08 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: jasa9092]
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19579
Loc: USA
Originally Posted By: jasa9092
I'm playing quizzes and after I rate them it takes me back to the homepage instead of "where I was".


Can you tell me what the URL says on the "submit quiz" screen before you click rate/go back to where I was?

Top
#1171138 - Today at 12:09 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
pagea Offline
Participant

Registered: Thu Apr 28 2011
Posts: 40
Loc: Watford Hertfordshire UK      
I seem to be struggling to load any quizzes in either 'flash' or 'timed' mode, HTML is fine.

Top
#1171139 - Today at 12:16 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: pagea]
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19579
Loc: USA
Originally Posted By: pagea
I seem to be struggling to load any quizzes in either 'flash' or 'timed' mode, HTML is fine.


Let me know if it works in a few hours. You seem to be bouncing back and forth between the two servers somehow, so you're a bit out of synch.

Top
#1171143 - Today at 12:26 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
rossian Offline
Moderator

Registered: Sat Jun 10 2006
Posts: 2517
Loc: Merseyside UK 
Timed and flash are working for me. I just checked both.
_________________________
Editor - Animals & Sci/Tech

Top
#1171146 - Today at 12:30 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
pagea Offline
Participant

Registered: Thu Apr 28 2011
Posts: 40
Loc: Watford Hertfordshire UK      
Originally Posted By: Terry
Originally Posted By: pagea
I seem to be struggling to load any quizzes in either 'flash' or 'timed' mode, HTML is fine.


Let me know if it works in a few hours. You seem to be bouncing back and forth between the two servers somehow, so you're a bit out of synch.


Looks like I'm back in business already, will let you know if anything changes.

Top
#1171157 - Today at 12:42 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
jasa9092 Offline
Explorer

Registered: Tue Dec 19 2006
Posts: 79
Loc: Illinois USA
Originally Posted By: Terry
Originally Posted By: jasa9092
I'm playing quizzes and after I rate them it takes me back to the homepage instead of "where I was".


Can you tell me what the URL says on the "submit quiz" screen before you click rate/go back to where I was?



http://www.funtrivia.com/submitquiz.cfm

Top
#1171159 - Today at 12:54 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: jasa9092]
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19579
Loc: USA
Originally Posted By: jasa9092
Originally Posted By: Terry
Originally Posted By: jasa9092
I'm playing quizzes and after I rate them it takes me back to the homepage instead of "where I was".


Can you tell me what the URL says on the "submit quiz" screen before you click rate/go back to where I was?



http://www.funtrivia.com/submitquiz.cfm


I just tested it -- it seems to work for me. Note that you have to originate from a category, say "Seinfeld Trivia" to go back to. If you play a quiz from the homepage, or in other lists around the site you will often get taken back to the homepage.

Top
#1171161 - Today at 12:55 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
jasa9092 Offline
Explorer

Registered: Tue Dec 19 2006
Posts: 79
Loc: Illinois USA
I just played another quiz from the Quiz Race and this time it took me back to where I was instead of the homepage. smile

Edit: I just now went and checked from where I had problems before. Earlier I was doing Children's quizzes and instead of going back to the list of the quizzes in the Add a Letter category, it was taking me back to the Homepage. It is working now. Thanks! smile


Edited by jasa9092 (Today at 01:04 PM)

Top
#1171163 - Today at 01:05 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
spanishliz Offline
Champion Poster

Registered: Thu Dec 13 2001
Posts: 20888
Loc: Ontario Canada
Crosswords are not working for me (Firefox, Windows 10, just updated). The page starts to load, the title shows but where the grid should be is a black box and where the clues should be are white boxes.

Also got a popup "Shockwave Flash has a problem" (words to that effect) then my browser hung up and I had to restart it so I could report.

Top
#1171164 - Today at 01:08 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
spanishliz Offline
Champion Poster

Registered: Thu Dec 13 2001
Posts: 20888
Loc: Ontario Canada
Update: Just tried the same crossword again and it loaded as it should, and very quickly at that.

Top
#1171165 - Today at 01:11 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19579
Loc: USA
Yep, 2 crosswords were out of synch. Were fixed.

Top
#1171166 - Today at 01:17 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
lonely-lady Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Thu Jun 19 2014
Posts: 5346
Loc: England UK
The "Quiz of the Hour" is missing
_________________________
I dreamed of swimming in an ocean of orange fizzy drink. It was a Fantasea

Top
#1171167 - Today at 01:18 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19579
Loc: USA
yeah, known issue. The update stuff is all taking place on the old server, so this one doesn't see Qoth yet.

edit: found a quick workaround.


Edited by Terry (Today at 01:25 PM)

Top
#1171170 - Today at 01:42 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
lonely-lady Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Thu Jun 19 2014
Posts: 5346
Loc: England UK
Thank you
_________________________
I dreamed of swimming in an ocean of orange fizzy drink. It was a Fantasea

Top
#1171182 - Today at 02:47 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: MiraJane]
kyleisalive Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Mon Mar 07 2005
Posts: 6810
Loc: Toronto, Canada, eh!
Originally Posted By: MiraJane
Ugh.
Ugh. Ugh. And double ugh.
Why? Because I'm in the midst of packing up and moving right now. It is a miserable thing to do!


Every time I move, I write a horror quiz while I'm packing. The tradition has gone on through eight or so quizzes. :s
_________________________
Senior FT Editor (Video Games, Television, and Entertainment)
Chat Board Moderator (Author's Lounge)
Amazing Trivia Race Taskmaster/Commission Hander-Outer/TRICster

Top
#1171198 - Today at 04:57 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
Upstart3 Offline
Forum Adept

Registered: Tue Jun 04 2013
Posts: 131
Loc: Wales UK
Should Crystal Ball be working yet?

Top
#1171199 - Today at 04:59 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Upstart3]
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19579
Loc: USA
Yep, is it working properly?

In theory the site should be 100% itself now.

Top
#1171201 - Today at 05:03 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
Upstart3 Offline
Forum Adept

Registered: Tue Jun 04 2013
Posts: 131
Loc: Wales UK
Hopefully this is the game putting itself right?

5:00
A new word of the hour has been selected at The Crystal Ball. Last hour's word was peliosis. Guess this hour's word and win a badge!
A new word of the hour has been selected at The Crystal Ball. Last hour's word was geminate. Guess this hour's word and win a badge!

Top
#1171202 - Today at 05:13 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Upstart3]
CmdrK Online   content
Prolific

Registered: Sun Jan 17 2010
Posts: 1912
Loc: Nevada USA
I just made a minor change to the title of one of my crossword puzzles. When I went to save it I got an "unexpected error" message but it still made the change.
_________________________
Schrödinger's cat goes into a bar... Or does he?

Top
#1171203 - Today at 05:19 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19579
Loc: USA
Upstart: yep, it should all be synchronized now. If not this hour, then next.

Cmdrk: Saw that in the error log and fixed. Give it a go!

Top
#1171204 - Today at 05:32 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
flopsymopsy Offline
Moderator

Registered: Sat May 17 2008
Posts: 3709
Loc: Northampton England UK      
The Easy game hasn't reset for, I think, three hours.
_________________________
The Hubble Telescope has just picked up a sound from a fraction of a second before the Big Bang. The sound was "Uh oh".

Top
#1171205 - Today at 05:45 PM Re: Migrating to a New Server Today - ERROR thread [Re: Terry]
Terry Online   FT-blank

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 19579
Loc: USA
Ahh thanks floppy... just gave it a kick and put it into the schedule rotation. Missed it somehow!

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Terry