Rules
Terms of Use

Topic Options
#121898 - Fri Jul 26 2002 04:51 AM 'help'
spookykidwraith Offline
Learning the ropes...

could some one please explain the meaning of 'run ons' to me with regard to the sentence structure of a quiz??

#121899 - Fri Jul 26 2002 05:59 AM Re: 'help'
valois Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Pennsylvania USA
I'll try, though it's been a lot of years since I studied this.

A normal, correct sentence contains a subject, a verb and a modifier, For example:

I (subject) like (verb) to read (modifier)

A run-on sentence contains the same format, but tends to ramble on and makes the meaning of the sentence vague. For example:

I like to read because it's fun and my teacher thinks it's a good way to learn things.

As you can see, it's vague because it contains two subjects (I and teacher) and two verbs (like and thinks), as well as a couple of modifiers (to read and to learn).

A good sentence should contain just one idea. To make the above correct, it should read:

I like to read. I think it's fun. My teacher thinks it's a good way to learn.

I hope this helps.

Edited by valois (Fri Jul 26 2002 06:03 AM)

#121900 - Fri Jul 26 2002 08:42 AM Re: 'help'
Linda1 Offline
Star Poster

Loc: Munchkinland
Nothing much to contribute to this thread except to lament the fact that diagraming sentences isn't taught anymore in schools. I think that's the best way to learn these things, and it's a shame it's gone by the wayside.

Lest I sound old with the above comment, let me say that I wasn't in school all that long ago. I'm not ancient. However, I do know that the five years that separate me and my brother mark a real difference in education. Whereas I learned how to diagram a sentence and do things like that, he didn't. And, it shows in his writing skills. Sad.

#121901 - Fri Jul 26 2002 09:22 AM Re: 'help'
valois Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Pennsylvania USA