Rules: Read Me!
Admin: sue943
Legal / Conditions of Use

Topic Options
#830103 - Sun Oct 07 2012 05:14 PM Crossword Connections #6- no 60D clue
sportsherald Offline
Participant

Registered: Sat Feb 18 2012
Posts: 30
Loc: Canada
For the appropriate editor:

I just played Crossword Connections #6 as the "Crossword of the Week." I found that it lacked a clue for 60 Down, although the correct word for it is "foe." When I clicked on the puzzle to get the clue for 60D, it instead displayed the clue for 1D repeatedly. I tried to flag this minor correction in the usual way, but apparently the account for author Soozy_Woozy no longer exists.

thanks

Top
#830133 - Sun Oct 07 2012 09:28 PM Re: Crossword Connections #6- no 60D clue [Re: sportsherald]
triviaking162 Offline
Forum Adept

Registered: Sat Mar 10 2012
Posts: 138
Loc: New York USA
It might just be you. I just went to it and the 60D clue says "Enemy".

It might've just been a technical glitch.
_________________________
TK

"That which does not kill us makes us stronger." - Friedrich Nietzsche

Top
#830136 - Sun Oct 07 2012 09:31 PM Re: Crossword Connections #6- no 60D clue [Re: triviaking162]
spanishliz Offline
Star Poster

Registered: Thu Dec 13 2001
Posts: 18709
Loc: Ontario Canada
Usually clearing the cache will fix something like this. I checked the template, and all looks good on that end. The fact that triviaking was able to see the clue points to a caching issue.

--------
Spanishliz (Editor in Crosswords, Movies, Geography and Brain Teasers)

Top
#830148 - Sun Oct 07 2012 10:11 PM Re: Crossword Connections #6- no 60D clue [Re: spanishliz]
kyleisalive Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Mon Mar 07 2005
Posts: 5722
Loc: Toronto, Canada, eh!
I received a note from someone else regarding this and didn't have problems on my end either.
_________________________
Senior FT Editor (Video Games, Television, Music, and Entertainment)
Chat Board Moderator (Author's Lounge)
Amazing Trivia Race Taskmaster/Commission Hander-Outer

Top
#830157 - Sun Oct 07 2012 11:20 PM Re: Crossword Connections #6- no 60D clue [Re: kyleisalive]
Tizzabelle Offline
Multiloquent

Registered: Sun Jan 17 2010
Posts: 2145
Loc: Sydney NSW Australia         
Oh that was me! I thought I was going mad but I swear it wasn't there. At least I know what the problem was now smile
_________________________
Editor Animals, Brain Teasers and Geography.
The cat sat on the mat, because sofa doesn't rhyme.

Top
#830165 - Mon Oct 08 2012 12:03 AM Re: Crossword Connections #6- no 60D clue [Re: Tizzabelle]
maninmidohio Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Mon Dec 03 2007
Posts: 7263
Loc: Newark Ohio USA               
I did the puzzle on Monday and had exactly the same problem with 60 Down. I did send an error message, but got a notice that the author was no longer on the system. I thought that the error would still reach an editor anyway, but maybe I was mistaken.

Top
#830184 - Mon Oct 08 2012 03:26 AM Re: Crossword Connections #6- no 60D clue [Re: Tizzabelle]
gtho4 Online   FT-blank

Administrator

Registered: Sun Dec 26 1999
Posts: 40766
Loc: Sydney oz downunder           
Originally Posted By: Tizzabelle
Oh that was me! I thought I was going mad but I swear it wasn't there. At least I know what the problem was now smile

You're not going mad, 60D wasn't there for me either.
When I went back to it after a few hours it was aok.

Top
#830359 - Mon Oct 08 2012 03:37 PM Re: Crossword Connections #6- no 60D clue [Re: gtho4]
Terry Offline

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 17897
Loc: USA
Thanks, have changed it so you can send notes to users who no longer exist.

60 down appears there for me!

Top
#830363 - Mon Oct 08 2012 04:06 PM Re: Crossword Connections #6- no 60D clue [Re: Terry]
dippo Offline
Mainstay

Registered: Sat Jun 14 2008
Posts: 579
Loc: London
England UK         
I had the same problem with another crossword - all the 'down' clues were 1D - then I clicked on a square on the crossword, and it went back to the normal display.

Top

Moderator:  agony, gtho4