Rules: Read Me!
Admin: sue943
Legal / Conditions of Use

Topic Options
#958561 - Tue Jan 01 2013 01:13 AM Fantasy KO Program Not Loading
illiniman14 Offline
Multiloquent

Registered: Fri Jul 10 2009
Posts: 2489
Loc: Champaign Illinois USA        
For the Fantasy KO this week, the program for Tournament #110 is loading the first player, but then has a message "error finding user -10" and doesn't show the other 15.

Just looked at the actual tournament and the 2nd player is FT_Bot10 - could be the reason.


Edited by illiniman14 (Tue Jan 01 2013 01:15 AM)

Top
#958565 - Tue Jan 01 2013 01:18 AM Re: Fantasy KO Program Not Loading [Re: illiniman14]
ozzz2002 Online   FT-cool
Moderator

Registered: Mon Dec 03 2001
Posts: 17240
Loc: Sydney NSW Australia        
I have a different problem with that set- I see 12 players, not 16. I am missing players 2,3,6 and 16.
_________________________
The key to everything is patience. You get the chicken by hatching the egg, not smashing it.

Editor, Hobbies and Sports, and Forum Moderator

Top
#958569 - Tue Jan 01 2013 01:30 AM Re: Fantasy KO Program Not Loading [Re: ozzz2002]
Buddy1 Offline
Mainstay

Registered: Wed Oct 15 2008
Posts: 788
Loc: Arkansas USA
I get the same error that illiniman14 got. Players 2, 3, 6, and 16 are all FT_Bot players. I take it this has never happened before--FT_Bots in a featured tournament.

Top
#958578 - Tue Jan 01 2013 01:53 AM Re: Fantasy KO Program Not Loading [Re: Buddy1]
AlonsoKing Offline
Forum Adept

Registered: Sat Feb 25 2012
Posts: 102
Loc: Brugge, Belgium
I have the same problem as Illiniman and Buddy.

Top
#958582 - Tue Jan 01 2013 02:24 AM Re: Fantasy KO Program Not Loading [Re: illiniman14]
Terry Offline

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 17916
Loc: USA
Weird, indeed that's the problem. Have added a temporary msg telling people to ignore the program for this week for that division.

Top
#958667 - Tue Jan 01 2013 09:40 AM Re: Fantasy KO Program Not Loading [Re: Terry]
mehaul Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Wed Feb 03 2010
Posts: 5257
Loc: Florida USA
Is there a logic to having one of the FT_bots being assigned a top seed position? It wouldn't seem fair to have some no shows advance v bots and that one lower seed player not. It also presents the situation of a player gaining a second round pass because a bot had advanced to that stage rather than just being a first round place holder.
_________________________
If you aren't seeing Heaven while you dream, you're doing something wrong.
Dreams allow escape from the passage of Time.

Top
#958711 - Tue Jan 01 2013 01:44 PM Re: Fantasy KO Program Not Loading [Re: illiniman14]
salami_swami Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Thu Nov 01 2007
Posts: 8236
Loc: Colorado USA
I was kinda hoping to choose a bot for the game. It IS possible for one to win. wink
_________________________
"The only water in the forest is the River."

Top
#958727 - Tue Jan 01 2013 04:16 PM Re: Fantasy KO Program Not Loading [Re: Terry]
gracious1 Offline
Mainstay

Registered: Tue May 01 2012
Posts: 713
Loc: New York USA
Originally Posted By: Terry
Weird, indeed that's the problem. Have added a temporary msg telling people to ignore the program for this week for that division.


Would it not be possible to write a workaround, so that you could still let people read the program for everyone else? It would add dummy entries for the Quizbot. Like something to check with each player?
Code:
if player == quizbot 
     dummy_text_function
else regular_program_function_for_entry

Or, since most players are not bots, maybe it makes more sense this way:
Code:
if player != quizbot
    regular_program_function_for_entry
else dummy_text_function

Dummy_text_function could print something like "QuizBot31 is just a bot, but it has lots of heart! Do don't count QuizBot31 out". All the other routines would be skipped like checking profiles for badges, etc.


It would probably be a lot of work. Just thinking out loud. Cheers.

Top
#958741 - Tue Jan 01 2013 05:27 PM Re: Fantasy KO Program Not Loading [Re: illiniman14]
Terry Offline

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 17916
Loc: USA
Yes. Reworking everything was not on the top of my agenda at 2 AM.

Top
#958762 - Tue Jan 01 2013 08:00 PM Re: Fantasy KO Program Not Loading [Re: illiniman14]
Buddy1 Offline
Mainstay

Registered: Wed Oct 15 2008
Posts: 788
Loc: Arkansas USA
I just realized ozzz2002's problem comes when trying to make selections for the Fantasy Knockout. The rest of us who mentioned we have a different problem comes when we tried to view the program.
When making my picks, I realized there were only 114 divisions, so Division 110 is likely to have FT_Bots, being only 4 from the bottom. I assume this is because of New Year's Eve/Day.

Top
#958800 - Wed Jan 02 2013 02:33 AM Re: Fantasy KO Program Not Loading [Re: illiniman14]
Terry Offline

Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 17916
Loc: USA
Yeah, fewer people playing this week. I've modified it for the future so that it doesnt choose tournaments quite so far down.

Top

Moderator:  Terry