Admin: sue943
Legal / Conditions of Use

Page 10 of 17 < 1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 16 17 >
Topic Options
#969222 - Tue Feb 26 2013 09:33 AM Re: What are you Reading mark2 [Re: ren33]
Dagny1 Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Alabama USA
I'm just beginning "Glimpses of an Unfamiliar Japan, First Series" by Lafcadio Hearn.

Hearn's father was Irish and his mother Greek. He came to the United States and eventually settled in New Orleans where he lived for years. In 1890, while working as a newspaper correspondent, Hearn visited Japan. He so loved the country that he resigned his job to remain in Japan. Hearn became a naturalized citizen of Japan and married a Japanese woman.

Glimpses is non-fiction, the story of his first days in Japan. Thus far it is charming. One example is that he begrudged himself the time to eat because he was so anxious to visit a Buddist temple.

Free at Project Gutenberg: http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/8130

#969224 - Tue Feb 26 2013 10:04 AM Re: What are you Reading mark2 [Re: ren33]
ren33 Offline

Loc: Fanling
  Hong Kong      
That sounds lovely! Thanks
(reminds me of a friend who loved Japan so much that she went to live ther. When I asked her how she was getting on she said "Oh , just wonderful, I even bow when I am on the telephone!")

#969920 - Sat Mar 02 2013 11:09 AM Re: What are you Reading mark2 [Re: ren33]
agony Offline

Administrator

Loc: Western Canada
The latest Sue Grafton - V is for Vengeance. Pretty good - it's not as much fun as the first few, but a great story, and some interesting characters. I like the change in viewpoint throughout the story - shakes things up a bit.

#970255 - Mon Mar 04 2013 09:23 AM Re: What are you Reading mark2 [Re: agony]
skunkee Offline
Forum Champion

Loc: Burlington Ontario Canada  
Life of Pi - saw the movie and now I'm starting the book.

"To insult someone we call him 'bestial'. For deliberate cruelty and nature, 'human' might be the greater insult." - Isaac Asimov