Rules: Read Me!
Admin: sue943
Legal / Conditions of Use

Topic Options
#961073 - Mon Jan 14 2013 06:20 PM "No board ID found."
gracious1 Offline
Mainstay

Registered: Tue May 01 2012
Posts: 645
Loc: New York USA
From the Author Lounge board I clicked on a link to a quiz in the "Sultans of Swing" thread (from the list of quizzes in the first post).

http://www.funtrivia.com/trivia-quiz/Television/Channel-Swings-356318.html

After I took the quiz (In Quiz Game mode, if that matters), in the part that says, "After rating, take me to:" I selected "Where I was".

Instead of taking me back to the board, I got this error:
"No board ID found."

Not a big deal probably, but something perhaps to take a look at.

Cheers.


EDIT: I did notice that for some reason the URL for the board where I launched the quiz from was
http://www.funtrivia.com/bb.cfm

instead of
http://www.funtrivia.com/bb.cfm?action=details&qnid=27184&boardid=2222222

-- the short URL came after I had posted something to the board.


Edited by gracious1 (Mon Jan 14 2013 06:23 PM)

Top
#961076 - Mon Jan 14 2013 07:00 PM Re: "No board ID found." [Re: gracious1]
WesleyCrusher Offline

Administrator

Registered: Thu Sep 04 2008
Posts: 3561
Loc: Germany
That's not really a bug smile

The system remembers the last address you have been to. In your case, this was just http://www.funtrivia.com/bb.cfm because your last action before taking the quiz was to make a post in the thread.

That URL (as you already found out yourself) needs some parameters to work. When you post, these parameters come from the posting form. You later went back to it, but of course without submitting a form - you get an error.

This is an unavoidable issue - if the "Where I was" is a page that implied an action, you will always get an error. (That's of course still better than the alternative of inadvertently repeating the action!)
_________________________
FT Editor and Administrator
Guardian of the Tower

Top
#961092 - Mon Jan 14 2013 08:19 PM Re: "No board ID found." [Re: WesleyCrusher]
gracious1 Offline
Mainstay

Registered: Tue May 01 2012
Posts: 645
Loc: New York USA
Right. I figured it wasn't actually a bug after I examined the URLs, but I couldn't unpost, so hopefully this will just a be a nice FYI. grin

I guess what I didn't quite see was why after making the post the parameters disappeared.

Top

Moderator:  Terry