Rules: Read Me!
Admin: sue943
Legal / Conditions of Use

Topic Options
#964948 - Fri Feb 01 2013 06:49 PM Videos? DVDs?
agony Offline

Administrator

Loc: Western Canada
Mentioning on another thread that I was going to rifle through my DVD collection for a movie I want to watch made me think of this topic.

I'm the kind of person who has shelves full of books throughout my house. And, being that kind of person, it's not surprising that there are hundreds of videotapes and DVDs here too. I'm not very technically innovative, so hooking myself up to Netflix or similar is just something I haven't gotten around to. I live in a very small town, so even back in the days when everyone rented movies, much of what we wanted to see wasn't available with their limited selection. We get a lot from the library, but still, we've always been a family that bought movies, usually from flea markets and garage sales, but also online. I'd estimate I've got about 250 movies lying around the house, and my daughter took another hundred or so with her when she moved out last fall.

How about you? Do you own movies, or are you a more clutter-free film watcher?

#964950 - Fri Feb 01 2013 07:06 PM Re: Videos? DVDs? [Re: agony]
pyonir Offline
Mainstay

Loc: Minnesota USA
I haven't bought any for a long time, but I'm definitely a movie collector. I watch some movies over and over again, some I've only watched a handful of times or less. I had a ton of VHS tapes, because I worked at a best buy type superstore, so got a huge discount.

I usually stick to buying DVDs out of the $5 bin at most stores now...picking up older movies I enjoy. I've probably got around 175 DVDs, which based on some others I've been around is not many. Then again, I'm sure there are many out there with less than 50.

#964968 - Fri Feb 01 2013 10:21 PM Re: Videos? DVDs? [Re: agony]
mehaul Offline
Multiloquent

Loc: Florida USA