Rules: Read Me!
Admin: sue943
Legal / Conditions of Use

Topic Options
#970704 - Wed Mar 06 2013 05:44 PM Should we give away endings to books/movies?
DomiNeyTor Offline
Forum Adept

Loc: Florida USA
Today in the New Question Game, I got a question about the ending of a classic book/movie. It was one I thought I might read/watch someday. Now that I know the ending, I have no desire to ever read/see that one.

I'm just wondering how other people feel about this.

#970709 - Wed Mar 06 2013 05:48 PM Re: Should we give away endings to books/movies? [Re: DomiNeyTor]
ren33 Offline

Loc: Fanling
  Hong Kong      
I agree. There is nothing more annoying than knowing the ending of a book or film. People should be very careful about it.

#970713 - Wed Mar 06 2013 05:52 PM Re: Should we give away endings to books/movies? [Re: DomiNeyTor]
spanishliz Offline
Star Poster

Loc: Ontario Canada
As an editor, I try to catch spoilers like that in single questions especially. At least in a quiz you can put a Spoiler Alert in the intro.

If you see one like that on a Movies question (my area) please send an error report so we can try to do something about it. (I won't speak for Lit.)

#970729 - Wed Mar 06 2013 06:53 PM Re: Should we give away endings to books/movies? [Re: DomiNeyTor]
agony Offline

Administrator

Loc: Western Canada
In Lit, my general feeling is that a book is a classic for more reasons than the suspense of finding out what happens, so I tend not to worry about it for books which would be considered part of the canon of Western Literature. Anyway, the ending tends to have been given away by an episode of "Wishbone".* I'm a little more careful when it comes to modern novels.

*"Wishbone" was a kids TV series where a Jack Russell terrier acted out the plots, loosely, of classic works of Literature.

#970730 - Wed Mar 06 2013 06:56 PM Re: Should we give away endings to books/movies? [Re: DomiNeyTor]
kyleisalive Offline
Forum Champion

Loc: Toronto, Canada, eh!