Rules: Read Me!
Admin: sue943
Legal / Conditions of Use

Topic Options
#974609 - Wed Mar 27 2013 02:10 PM Quiz formatting in Flash
gracious1 Offline
Mainstay

Registered: Tue May 01 2012
Posts: 714
Loc: New York USA
A poetry quiz of mine went online, and I noticed something that I wasn't able to see until it went live. In Flash/Instaquiz mode and in Quiz Game mode, the formatting is shot to heck. All the line breaks are ignored, and it really looks terrible. At times I quote a poem and then ask a question, and now it's all jumbled together in a big mess.

Can you tell me how to make the Flash modes recognize line breaks? Is there some character that can be inserted?

Top
#974614 - Wed Mar 27 2013 02:14 PM Re: Quiz formatting in Flash [Re: gracious1]
kyleisalive Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Mon Mar 07 2005
Posts: 5855
Loc: Toronto, Canada, eh!
Quote:
Can you tell me how to make the Flash modes recognize line breaks?


I have yet to be able to; I don't think you can. It signifies the breaks with the || marks. You could always remove Flash as an option and leave people to play HTML mode if it becomes a big issue.
_________________________
Senior FT Editor (Video Games, Television, Music, and Entertainment)
Chat Board Moderator (Author's Lounge)
Amazing Trivia Race Taskmaster/Commission Hander-Outer

Top
#974623 - Wed Mar 27 2013 02:32 PM Re: Quiz formatting in Flash [Re: kyleisalive]
gracious1 Offline
Mainstay

Registered: Tue May 01 2012
Posts: 714
Loc: New York USA
Well, you know I have seen the double-pipe in some quizzes, but not in any of my quizzes are they showing up. Is there some secret way to get those little marks to show up?

Top
#974627 - Wed Mar 27 2013 02:44 PM Re: Quiz formatting in Flash [Re: gracious1]
kyleisalive Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Mon Mar 07 2005
Posts: 5855
Loc: Toronto, Canada, eh!
They do show up in Flash Mode in each of your questions.
_________________________
Senior FT Editor (Video Games, Television, Music, and Entertainment)
Chat Board Moderator (Author's Lounge)
Amazing Trivia Race Taskmaster/Commission Hander-Outer

Top
#974629 - Wed Mar 27 2013 02:55 PM Re: Quiz formatting in Flash [Re: gracious1]
salami_swami Offline
Moderator

Registered: Thu Nov 01 2007
Posts: 8260
Loc: Colorado USA
They haven't ever shown up for me either... My own quizzes or otherwise.
_________________________
"The only water in the forest is the River."

Top
#974630 - Wed Mar 27 2013 03:08 PM Re: Quiz formatting in Flash [Re: gracious1]
Mariamir Offline
Multiloquent

Registered: Wed Feb 29 2012
Posts: 4258
Loc: Ontario Canada
If the questions had line breaks, there aren't any there in Quiz Game Mode, but when I tried your quiz in Quiz Game Mode, they're there in the info section. Looks perfectly neat. What are you seeing?

edited to clarify


Edited by Mariamir (Wed Mar 27 2013 03:09 PM)
_________________________
Secret, shall I tell you? Quiz author at FunTrivia am I. Won this job in a raffle I did, think you?

Top
#974646 - Wed Mar 27 2013 03:51 PM Re: Quiz formatting in Flash [Re: kyleisalive]
gracious1 Offline
Mainstay

Registered: Tue May 01 2012
Posts: 714
Loc: New York USA
Originally Posted By: kyleisalive
They do show up in Flash Mode in each of your questions.

They do? I will check this!

Top
#974647 - Wed Mar 27 2013 04:04 PM Re: Quiz formatting in Flash [Re: Mariamir]
gracious1 Offline
Mainstay

Registered: Tue May 01 2012
Posts: 714
Loc: New York USA
Originally Posted By: Mariamir
If the questions had line breaks, there aren't any there in Quiz Game Mode, but when I tried your quiz in Quiz Game Mode, they're there in the info section. Looks perfectly neat. What are you seeing?


All right, that's strange. The double-pipes are now showing up in the questions Flash/Interactive mode, but not in Quiz Game mode. The line breaks show up properly in the info section.

That was the poetry quiz. When I tried my celebrity rhyme time quizzes, however, the double-pipes are definitely not showing up in the questions in the older Flash mode. Nor do they appear in the questions in Quiz Game mode.

Why this inconsistency, I wonder?

Top
#975052 - Fri Mar 29 2013 12:52 PM Re: Quiz formatting in Flash [Re: gracious1]
mehaul Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Wed Feb 03 2010
Posts: 5334
Loc: Florida USA
In some posting platforms I have had trouble doing some of the word rebussi (he he). They did that line out of form bit. I learned that many of them are dictated their organization by the first line. If you have a number in it - like our quizzes do to order them - the beginning of your text gets shifted. I learned to overcome this obstacle by inserting a top line period and then a carriage return (line break). Starting everything on the second line got all where it should be. I think here that would take some editorial cooperation to accept that as a top line though.It would look like:
9. .
Mary had a little lamb
etc.
As opposed to:
9. Mary had a little lamb
etc.
_________________________
If you aren't seeing Heaven while you dream, you're doing something wrong.
Dreams allow escape from the passage of Time.

Top

Moderator:  agony, gtho4