Rules
Terms of Use

Topic Options
#1101244 - Sun Jul 05 2015 05:14 PM Let's talk about dinosaurs
ElusiveDream Offline
Forum Adept

Loc: Victoria Australia
I like dinosaurs. I've been collecting dinosaur-related items for the past twenty-five years and I'm interested to see what my fellow FunTrivians know about these amazing animals that once ruled our planet. Even if you don't know anything at all, please feel free to join in the conversation, as you might learn something interesting. Got a dinosaur-related question? Post it here and I'll do my best to answer it for you.

#1101247 - Sun Jul 05 2015 07:44 PM Re: Let's talk about dinosaurs
nautilator Offline
Mainstay

Loc: Pennsylvania USA
Are there any cheap dinosaur fossils*? I used to like dinosaurs when I was younger. More recently, I've been looking at the shells, minerals, and couple of small fossils that survived the years and am thinking of buying a few for that reason.

*I don't really care for coprolite because I have enough crap as it is.

#1101261 - Mon Jul 06 2015 12:24 AM Re: Let's talk about dinosaurs
ElusiveDream Offline
Forum Adept

If you look on ebay, you'll find a range of fossils from Trilobites to dinosaur teeth, though it's hard to tell if these fossils are actually real. If you want genuine fossils, the best places to get them from are either museums (though they can be expensive)or straight out of the ground. I once went with a fossil-hunting group to a place in Victoria, Australia, called Comet Creek. I found some very interesting fossils including worm burrows and the imprints of sea shells. The rest of my fossils come from my local museum. I have fragments of dinosaur bone and eggshell, a fish, Mosasaur teeth, a Trilobite, an Ammonite and some shark teeth, including the broken tooth of a Megalodon.

#1102121 - Tue Jul 14 2015 06:20 AM Re: Let's talk about dinosaurs
agony Offline

Administrator

Loc: Western Canada