Rules
Terms of Use

Topic Options
#255874 - Wed Feb 02 2005 01:29 AM HI guys...just a question.
Kittencat Offline
Forum Adept

Registered: Thu Aug 26 2004
Posts: 158
I've just played a new quiz and 'scored' 2 out of 10...when clearly most of my answers were correct (I made it 8/10). It even said 'incorrect..the answer is brought' when that was the answer I chose.

This was a mulitiple choice quiz.

Does this happen often as I have noticed it before, and it's quite frustrating when you know you've done quite well.


Edited by Kittencat (Wed Feb 02 2005 01:31 AM)
_________________________
Angel who did not so much fall as saunter vaguely downwards.

Top
#255875 - Wed Feb 02 2005 02:02 AM Re: Hi guys...just a question.
dg_dave Offline
Champion Poster

Registered: Sun Oct 05 2003
Posts: 23675
Loc: near Stafford, Virginia USA  
A situation like that should not usually happen. What you can do, provided you know your answer is correct, is to send the author of the quiz a correction note. The only other thing I would say is to make sure you are polite when you send it.

If you can supply the quiz ID number, an editor can look into it as well.
_________________________
The way to get things done is NOT to mind who gets the credit for doing them. --Benjamin Jowett
No one can make you feel inferior without your consent. --Eleanor Roosevelt
The day we lose our will to fight is the day we lose our freedom.

Top
#255876 - Wed Feb 02 2005 02:26 AM Re: Hi guys...just a question.
Kittencat Offline
Forum Adept

Registered: Thu Aug 26 2004
Posts: 158
Thanks Dave, will do.

I'm always polite.
_________________________
Angel who did not so much fall as saunter vaguely downwards.

Top
#255877 - Wed Feb 02 2005 09:35 AM Re: Hi guys...just a question.
ClaraSue Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Sun May 18 2003
Posts: 7837
Loc: Arizona USA
It's been a while, but I have had the same problem before. I don't remember which quiz it was but the answer (a fill-in-the-blank) was "John Travolta". That's what I wrote and received an incorrect notice that the answer is "John Travolta", spelled the same. I double checked the spelling and even noticed that a high percentage of quiz takers got the answer correct so I knew then it wasn't the quizmakers mistake. I did write to the author, but didn't get a reply. If this happens again, I'll mark the page and let an editor see.
_________________________
May the tail of the elephant never have to swat the flies from your face.

Top
#255878 - Wed Feb 02 2005 09:55 AM Re: Hi guys...just a question.
Bruyere Offline
Star Poster

Registered: Sat Feb 10 2001
Posts: 18799
Loc: California USA
I'm almost dead certain that these false results are because of the recent churning around from Terry's upgrading.
By the way though, if you do send a note for a false incorrect, chances are the person writing the quiz has absolutely no idea about what you're talking about unless they are an editor.
I think that if you do a message like this, you might wish to add, 'Please notify the editor about this problem'.
As it's just happened in the past few days, I'd wager it's the upgrading.
_________________________
I was born under a wandering star.

Top
#255879 - Wed Feb 02 2005 10:04 AM Re: Hi guys...just a question.
ladymacb29 Offline
Moderator

Registered: Wed Mar 15 2000
Posts: 15911
Loc: The Delta Quadrant
Ditto what Bruyere said. A lot of times (when it hasn't been the result of tweaking the system , the problem has been a 'brain fart' on the website where there was a blip at the same time you were submitting your answers, so it counted them wrong.

Also, if it is a FITB answer, once in a while an author will put an extra space in the answer. When the editors don't catch this problem, the players will all get the answer wrong.
_________________________
"Without the darkness, how would we see the light?" ~ Tuvok

Editor for Television Category

Top
#255880 - Wed Feb 02 2005 10:15 AM Re: Hi guys...just a question.
ClaraSue Offline
Forum Champion

Registered: Sun May 18 2003
Posts: 7837
Loc: Arizona USA
Quote:

Also, if it is a FITB answer, once in a while an author will put an extra space in the answer. When the editors don't catch this problem, the players will all get the answer wrong.




This is what I originally thought, but then noticed that it was a high percentage that answered correctly so that shot that theory out of the water. It was probably just a temporary glitch. And if I recall correctly, when I wrote the author, I think I mentioned it was probably a glitch. I know I wasn't upset over it, just curious.
_________________________
May the tail of the elephant never have to swat the flies from your face.

Top
#255881 - Wed Feb 02 2005 10:24 AM Re: Hi guys...just a question.
ertrum Offline
Multiloquent

Registered: Wed May 19 2004
Posts: 2098
Loc: Cary North Carolina USA      
Would it be hard to have FT handle FITB responses so that leading and trailing whitespace are deleted and all cases of multiple whitespaces get compressed to one space? In other words, so that
" this is an answer" would be seen internally as "this is an answer". I expect that would get rid of some of the spacing problems with FITBs.

Top
#255882 - Wed Feb 02 2005 10:24 AM Re: Hi guys...just a question.
spanishliz Offline
Champion Poster

Registered: Thu Dec 13 2001
Posts: 22233
Loc: Ontario Canada
With an FITB, if the per centage correct is high, it could be that the player has accidentally put in an extra space when typing the answer. I know that I do this sometimes, especially if typing quickly.

Top
#255883 - Thu Feb 03 2005 08:23 AM Re: Hi guys...just a question.
Bruyere Offline
Star Poster

Registered: Sat Feb 10 2001
Posts: 18799
Loc: California USA
As we normally use word processing that does a right justification, it's normal that when we type our eyes get used to an extra space here and there. So the above is true and more often than you think.

This is one of the main reasons that restricting FITBS is a good idea.
_________________________
I was born under a wandering star.

Top
#255884 - Thu Feb 03 2005 03:45 PM Re: Hi guys...just a question.
Terry Offline
Head Honcho

Registered: Wed Dec 31 1969
Posts: 20634
Loc: USA
<< Ditto what Bruyere said. A lot of times (when it hasn't been the result of tweaking the system , the problem has been a 'brain fart' on the website where there was a blip at the same time you were submitting your answers, so it counted them wrong. >>

Unlikely... this problem sounds more like a particular quiz has a funny control character or something embedded in one of the answers. Please tell us which quiz this occurs on so that we can check it out. Thanks.

Terry

Top
#255885 - Thu Feb 03 2005 06:56 PM Re: HI guys...just a question.
Chippy Offline
Enthusiast

Registered: Thu Jul 11 2002
Posts: 212
Loc: Oklahoma USA
Quote:

I've just played a new quiz and 'scored' 2 out of 10...when clearly most of my answers were correct (I made it 8/10). It even said 'incorrect..the answer is brought' when that was the answer I chose.

This was a mulitiple choice quiz.

Does this happen often as I have noticed it before, and it's quite frustrating when you know you've done quite well.




I must've played the same quiz, because I had the exact same thing happen, and "brought" was one of my incorrect correct answers. It marked 5 or 6 of mine wrong that were actually right.

Top
#255886 - Thu Feb 03 2005 07:14 PM Re: HI guys...just a question.
ozzz2002 Offline
Moderator

Registered: Mon Dec 03 2001
Posts: 19996
Loc: Sydney NSW Australia
Do you have the quiz ID number or name?
_________________________
The key to everything is patience. You get the chicken by hatching the egg, not smashing it.

Ex-Editor, Hobbies and Sports, and Forum Moderator

Top
#255887 - Thu Feb 03 2005 08:09 PM Re: HI guys...just a question.
NatalieW Offline
Prolific

Registered: Thu Aug 07 2003
Posts: 1539
Loc: Adelaide, Australia
I think I know which quiz you mean; I have just put it online again after the author resubmitted it voluntarily. I've checked the quiz and played it myself and it is marking the correct answers as being correct now, so perhaps it was all due to Terry's playing around.

Natalie
_________________________
"To teach is to learn twice" - Joubert

Top
#255888 - Tue Feb 22 2005 12:54 AM I think...
muhammadasad Offline
Explorer

Registered: Mon Jan 10 2005
Posts: 52
Loc: Pakistan, Islamabad
I think you are talking about my quiz KIDS FUNTRIVIA III (Forms of Verbs). If you are talking about my quiz then please send me a note when such a result happens to you because I know how to correct this problem.
_________________________
MUHAMMAD ASAD.

Top
#255889 - Tue Feb 22 2005 02:19 AM Re: I think...
sue943 Offline
Administrator

Registered: Sun Dec 19 1999
Posts: 37384
Loc: Jersey
Channel Islands    
How? It also occurs to me that if you suspect that there is a problem with one of your quizzes and if you know how to correct it, why haven't you?
_________________________
Many a child has been spoiled because you can't spank a Grandma!

Top
#255890 - Tue Feb 22 2005 02:30 AM Re: I think...
muhammadasad Offline
Explorer

Registered: Mon Jan 10 2005
Posts: 52
Loc: Pakistan, Islamabad
I have corrected my quiz. I just want to tell everyone that if this will happen in future so please send a note to the quiz's author.
_________________________
MUHAMMAD ASAD.

Top

Moderator:  agony