Rules
Terms of Use

Page 6 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
Topic Options
#398324 - Thu Jan 10 2008 12:25 AM Re: Mispronounced words
Trigger7 Offline
Forum Adept

Loc: Morden ManitobaCanada
I just heard this word used on a TV Talk Show - it was about all the DECALS on a vehicle - pronounced as DEE CALS, when the correct pronunciation is
DECK ULS.
Also, I cannot handle the common pronunciation of HERB as ERB, what the eck is up with that? Usually its fancy pancies that say it that way.

#398325 - Thu Jan 10 2008 07:06 AM Re: Mispronounced words
agony Offline

Administrator

Loc: Western Canada
Yes, I've been caught by the Kiwi accent myself a few times. And that story reminds me of this one - I worked in a restaurant with a woman who had a heavy Greek accent. She was calling to me from across the room once, as we were setting up in the morning - "Have you got any lett-us?" "Letters?" I'm thinking, allowing for her accent. Leathers? Turns out, out course, that she was asking for lettuce, and saying it perfectly correctly.....

#398326 - Thu Jan 10 2008 08:42 AM Re: Mispronounced words
ktstew Offline
Forum Champion

Loc: Arkansas USA
Quote:

Also, I cannot handle the common pronunciation of HERB as ERB, what the eck is up with that? Usually its fancy pancies that say it that way.

We've always pronounced it that way and be assured - there's nothing very fancy about me. Maybe it's a regional thing.

#398327 - Thu Jan 10 2008 12:27 PM Re: Mispronounced words
greenkiwi Offline
Forum Adept

Loc: Wellington NewZealand
Hiya Ren33. Nice to hear you've met a kiwi....there's only 4million of us,so we're quite rare:-) Pass on my hellos and best wishes{Kia Ora & Arohanui!} to your collegue,it can get lonely when away from home...I did a 2yr stint in the middle east and got home end of Aug/2007;Hamdullah! Ask your collegue about how kiwis and auzzies say:"fish and chips" and "six"...you'll get a giggle out of that:-)

#398328 - Thu Jan 10 2008 12:46 PM Re: Mispronounced words