Rules
Terms of Use

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#469381 - Mon Apr 27 2009 11:10 PM Closed Categories
Lones78 Offline
Prolific

Loc: Forrestfield Western�Austral...
This is my first time in the discussion forum and i'm not sure if this should be a new post or be added to another post on a similar subject (yes, i have done a thorough search and cant come up with the anwer i am looking for).
If someone could clarify, it would be appreciated

i understand why some categories are closed to new submissions esp when they are chock-full of quizes asking the same questions.

silly me decided to write a quiz for a much loved category and it got rejected becuase it was a closed category (i should really have checked first - i admit that ). i am ok with that in principle but there are 16 quizes in that particular category and i have completed each one. i found them to be quite vague, boring, simple and repetitive. i made a quiz that included more detail in the questions and 'interesting info' and was not repetitive at all. i was actually quite proud of my effort

now, i dont want people to reply to this and tell me i should have checked that it was not a restricted category first because i realise that.

what i would like to know is:
a)why was that category closed in the first place?
b)is there any time a category can be 're-opened'?
c)is there someone (like an editor in that category) that i should be chatting to about this?

Thanks

#469382 - Mon Apr 27 2009 11:16 PM Re: Closed Categories
kyleisalive Online   FT-cool
Forum Champion

Loc: Toronto, Canada, eh!
Your best bet is to ask someone in the category about the quiz and suggest your approach to the topic. Stuff like that can be dealt with on a case-by-case basis, and if you're right in what you said about not repeating questions, etc. then it's up to the editor in that category to determine whether or not it's allowable.