FREE! Click here to Join FunTrivia. Thousands of games, quizzes, and lots more!
Fun Trivia
Home: Questions and Answers Forum
Answers to 100,000 Fascinating Questions
Welcome to FunTrivia's Question & Answer forum!

Search All Questions

Please cite any factual claims with citation links or references from authoritative sources. Editors continuously recheck submissions and claims.

Archived Questions

Goto Qn #

Who were the original NBA teams?

Question #28366. Asked by Loandogg.
Last updated Oct 25 2016.

Related Trivia Topics: Sports   Basketball  
Answer has 54 votes
Currently Best Answer
24 year member
2378 replies avatar

Answer has 54 votes.

Currently voted the best answer.
The NBA originated in 1946 with 11 teams, and through a sequence of team expansions, reductions, and relocations currently consists of 30 teams. The United States is home to 29 teams and one (Toronto Raptors) is located in Canada.

The original 11 teams were: Boston Celtics, Chicago Stags, Cleveland Rebels*, Detroit Falcons*, New York Knickerbockers, Philadelphia Warriors, Pittsburgh Ironmen*, Providence Steamrollers, St Louis Bombers, Toronto Huskies* and Washington Capitols.
* these 4 teams dropped out after one season.


The NBA was officially named in 1949 after a merger, but considers those first 3 years as part of the NBA.
The 1946–47 BAA season was the inaugural season of the Basketball Association of America. (Following its third, the 1948–49 season, the BAA and National Basketball League merged to create the National Basketball Association or NBA.) The league launched with 11 teams playing a 60-game schedule. The postseason tournament at its conclusion, the 1947 BAA Playoffs, ended with the Philadelphia Warriors becoming the first BAA Champion, beating the Chicago Stags 4 games to 1 in the BAA Finals.

The NBA recognizes the three BAA seasons as part of its own history, sometimes without comment, so BAA 1946–47 is sometimes considered the first NBA season.


Response last updated by Terry on Oct 25 2016.
Feb 19 2003, 4:03 AM
Answer has 41 votes

Answer has 41 votes.
The Toronto Huskies, Pittsburgh Ironmen, Detroit Falcons, and Clevland Rebels left after the first season of 1946-47. The Providence Stemrollers stayed for three seasons. The St. Louis Bombers and the Chicago Stags both were there for four seasons. The Washington Capitols stayed for five seasons. The Philadelphia Warriors were in for the first 16 seasons until changing to San Fransisco for nine years and Golden State from 1971-72 to present. The Boston Celtics and the New York Knickerbockers are the only teams who have been in the NBA from the beginning to present.

Dec 30 2005, 1:01 AM
Answer has 32 votes

Answer has 32 votes.
Sorry, I meant to say "Steamrollers".

Dec 30 2005, 11:37 AM
free email trivia FREE! Get a new mixed Fun Trivia quiz each day in your email. It's a fun way to start your day!

arrow Your Email Address:

Sign in or Create Free User ID to participate in the discussion

Related FunTrivia Quizzes

play quiz Their Original NBA Teams
( NBA Players)
play quiz Original Super League Teams
( England)
play quiz Original Names of Pro Sports Teams
(History of Team Names)

Return to FunTrivia
"Ask FunTrivia" strives to offer the best answers possible to trivia questions. We ask our submitters to thoroughly research questions and provide sources where possible. Feel free to post corrections or additions. This is server B184.