FREE! Click here to Join FunTrivia. Thousands of games, quizzes, and lots more!
Fun Trivia
Home: Questions and Answers Forum
Answers to 100,000 Fascinating Questions
Welcome to FunTrivia's Question & Answer forum!

Search All Questions

Please cite any factual claims with citation links or references from authoritative sources. Editors continuously recheck submissions and claims.

Archived Questions

Goto Qn #

How many states of the USA have no professional teams in the four major sports?

Question #130266. Asked by Sprink1234.
Last updated May 13 2021.
Originally posted Mar 30 2013 8:59 AM.

Related Trivia Topics: Sports   USA  
Answer has 32 votes
Currently Best Answer
13 year member
129 replies

Answer has 32 votes.

Currently voted the best answer.
The 4 major sports being the NFL, MLB, NBA, and NHL, the count of states having no teams in any of these leagues is 25:

Hawaii, Alaska, Nevada, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, New Mexico, Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota, Iowa, Arkansas, Mississippi, Kansas**, Alabama, Kentucky, Virginia, West Virginia, South Carolina, Delaware, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine.

This list includes states which have no team permanently based in a city in that state. Exceptions include The New England Patriots, who are based in Foxborough, Massachusetts but represent all states in the New England geographical area. It is also said that the Carolina Panthers (Charlotte, NC - NFL) and Carolina Hurricanes (Raleigh, NC - NHL) represent both North and South Carolina.

** Note that the Kansas City Royals and Kansas City Chiefs both play on the Missouri side of the border.


Response last updated by Terry on May 13 2021.
Mar 30 2013, 9:53 AM
gtho4 star
Answer has 32 votes
gtho4 star
24 year member
2368 replies avatar

Answer has 32 votes.
There are 25 states that don't have a team in MLB, NBA, NHL or NFL, and 25 states that have at least one. These states have none:

North Dakota
New Hamapshire
New Mexico
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
West Virginia

The other 25 states have at least one:

  Arizona (4) Arizona Cardinals NFL, Arizona Diamondbacks MLB, Phoenix Coyotes NHL, Phoenix Suns NBA.
  California (16) LA Rams NFL, Anaheim Ducks NHL, Golden State Warriors NBA, LA Angels of Anaheim MLB, LA Clippers NBA, LA Dodgers MLB, LA Kings NHL, LA Lakers NBA, Oakland Athletics MLB, Oakland Raiders NFL, Sacramento Kings NBA, San Diego Chargers NFL, San Diego Padres MLB, San Francisco 49ers NFL, San Francisco Giants MLB, San Jose Sharks NHL.
  Colorado (4) Colorado Avalanche NHL, Colorado Rockies MLB, Denver Broncos NFL, Denver Nuggets NBA.
  Florida (9) Florida Panthers NHL, Jacksonville Jaguars NFL, Miami Dolphins NFL, Miami Heat NBA, Miami Marlins MLB, Orlando Magic NBA, Tampa Bay Buccaneers NFL, Tampa Bay Lightning NHL, Tampa Bay Rays MLB.
  Georgia (3) Atlanta Braves MLB, Atlanta Falcons NFL, Atlanta Hawks NBA.
  Illinois (5) Chicago Bears NFL, Chicago Blackhawks NHL, Chicago Bulls NBA, Chicago Cubs MLB, Chicago White Sox MLB.
  Indiana (2) Indiana Pacers NBA, Indianapolis Colts NFL.
  Louisiana (2) New Orleans Pelicans NBA, New Orleans Saints NFL.
  Maryland (3) Baltimore Orioles MLB, Baltimore Ravens NFL, Washington Redskins NFL.
  Massachusetts (4) Boston Bruins NHL, Boston Celtics NBA, Boston Red Sox MLB, New England Patriots NFL.
  Michigan (4) Detroit Lions NFL, Detroit Pistons NBA, Detroit Red Wings NHL, Detroit Tigers MLB.
  Minnesota (4) Minnesota Timberwolves NBA, Minnesota Twins MLB, Minnesota Vikings NFL, Minnesota Wild NHL.
  Missouri (3), Kansas City Royals MLB, St Louis Blues NHL, St Louis Cardinals MLB, Kansas City Chiefs NFL
  New Jersey (3) NJ Devils NHL, NY Giants NFL, NY Jets NFL.
  New York (8) Brooklyn Nets NBA, Buffalo Bills NFL, Buffalo Sabres NHL, NY Islanders NHL, NY Knicks NBA, NY Mets MLB, NY Rangers NHL, NY Yankees MLB.
  North Carolina (3) Carolina Hurricanes NHL, Carolina Panthers NFL, Charlotte Bobcats NBA.
  Ohio (6) Cincinnati Bengals NFL, Cincinnati Reds MLB, Cleveland Browns NFL, Cleveland Cavaliers NBA, Cleveland Indians MLB, Columbus Blue Jackets NHL.
  Oklahoma (1) Oklahoma City Thunder NBA.
  Oregon (1) Portland Trail Blazers NBA.
  Pennsylvania (7) Philadelphia 76ers NBA, Philadelphia Eagles NFL, Philadelphia Flyers NHL, Philadelphia Phillies MLB, Pittsburgh Penguins NHL, Pittsburgh Pirates MLB, Pittsburgh Steelers NFL.
  Tennessee (3) Memphis Grizzlies NBA, Nashville Predators NHL, Tennessee Titans NFL.
  Texas (8) Dallas Cowboys NFL, Dallas Mavericks NBA, Dallas Stars NHL, Houston Astros MLB, Houston Rockets NBA, Houston Texans NFL, San Antonio Spurs NBA, Texas Rangers MLB.
  Utah (1) Utah Jazz NBA.
  Washington (2) Seattle Mariners MLB, Seattle Seahawks NFL.
Wisconsin (3) Green Bay Packers NFL, Milwaukee Brewers MLB, Milwaukee Bucks NBA.

District of Columbia (3) Washington Capitals NHL - Washington Nationals MLB - Washington Wizards NBA.


Response last updated by gtho4 on Oct 18 2016.
Mar 30 2013, 10:22 AM
wellenbrecher star
Answer has 0 votes
wellenbrecher star
19 year member
455 replies

Answer has 0 votes.
Slighty outdated since Nevada has an NHL team. The franchise started in the 2017-18 season.


Oct 15 2020, 9:17 AM
Answer has 0 votes
7 year member
28 replies

Answer has 0 votes.
Nevada also has an NFL team, as the Raiders began playing in Las Vegas in 2020.


Oct 17 2020, 12:08 PM
free email trivia FREE! Get a new mixed Fun Trivia quiz each day in your email. It's a fun way to start your day!

arrow Your Email Address:

Sign in or Create Free User ID to participate in the discussion

Related FunTrivia Quizzes

play quiz Florida Professional Sports Teams
( USA by Locality)
play quiz Professional Sports in Ohio
( Ohio)
play quiz Professional Sports Logos!
( USA by Locality)

Return to FunTrivia
"Ask FunTrivia" strives to offer the best answers possible to trivia questions. We ask our submitters to thoroughly research questions and provide sources where possible. Feel free to post corrections or additions. This is server B184.