FREE! Click here to Join FunTrivia. Thousands of games, quizzes, and lots more!
Quiz about Nathans Hot Dog Eating Contest Champions
Quiz about Nathans Hot Dog Eating Contest Champions

Nathan's Hot Dog Eating Contest Champions Quiz

Match the years they won to the hot dog eating champion. The contest has happened in some form or another since 1919, but has only been popular since around 2001. The contest was most often held on July 4th in its first 100 years.

A matching quiz by Shadowmyst2004. Estimated time: 3 mins.
  1. Home
  2. »
  3. Quizzes
  4. »
  5. Hobbies Trivia
  6. »
  7. Food & Drink
  8. »
  9. Meats

3 mins
Match Quiz
Quiz #
Feb 20 22
# Qns
Avg Score
8 / 10
Mobile instructions: Press on an answer on the right. Then, press on the gray box it matches on the left.
(a) Drag-and-drop from the right to the left, or (b) click on a right side answer box and then on a left side box to move it.
1. 2007-14, 2016-19  
Jay Green
2. 2015  
Frankie Dellarosa
3. 2001-06  
Kazutoyo Arai
4. 2000  
Ed Krachie
5. 1999  
Hirofumi Nakajima
6. 1997-98  
Matt Stonie
7. 1995-96  
Takeru Kobayashi
8. 1990*, 1993-94  
Steve Keiner
9. 1991-92  
Joey Chestnut
10. 1988-90*  
Mike DeVito

Quiz Answer Key and Fun Facts
1. 2007-14, 2016-19

Answer: Joey Chestnut

Chestnut is the one who stole the crown from Kobayashi in 2007, and went on to become one of the best known eaters in the world. He won eight consecutive titles, missed a year and then won four more in a row to become the first ever 12x champion of the event.
2. 2015

Answer: Matt Stonie

Stonie ate 62 hot dogs to Chestnut's 60 to snap an eight-year winning streak. He was unable to defend his title though and became a one-year wonder in the contest. The following year he finished runner up with 53, to champion Chestnut's 70.
3. 2001-06

Answer: Takeru Kobayashi

Kobayashi became an international legend, and turned competitive eating into a more mainstream sport in the US by winning six consecutive titles. He doubled up the world record in his first contest, eating 50 hot dogs in 12 minutes.
4. 2000

Answer: Kazutoyo Arai

Arai made it three titles in four years for Japan when he won his only title in 2000. He ate a then-record 25 hot dogs in 12 minutes.
5. 1999

Answer: Steve Keiner

Keiner returned the championship to the US after two years of Japan winning. He ate 21.5 hot dogs officially. Years later in replays it was shown that he ate the first half hot dog before the starting gun and technically should have been disqualified, but it wasn't caught at the time and his title stands.
6. 1997-98

Answer: Hirofumi Nakajima

After beating Krachie head to head the year before (in an international contest, not the Nathan's contest), Hirofumi Nakajima entered the Nathan's contest and won two years in a row. He ate 24.5 and 19 hot dogs in his respective wins.
7. 1995-96

Answer: Ed Krachie

Krachie, a 350-pound engineer from New York, won his first title with 19.5 hot dogs and buns eaten in 12 minutes.

A year later he won again with 22 hot dogs eaten.

In the second match-up between US and Japanese champions later in 1996 (held separately from the official contest), he lost to Hirofumi Nakajima head to head.
8. 1990*, 1993-94

Answer: Mike DeVito

DeVito was the second three-time champion, and the first to not win them consecutively. In 1993, the two-time reigning champion cancelled at the last minute, allowing former champ DeVito to return to the top.

In 1993 he also won an international challenge with a Japanese competitor that was open only to the champion from each country. That challenge was held later in the year.
9. 1991-92

Answer: Frankie Dellarosa

Dellarosa ate 21 and 19 hotdogs in 12 minutes competitions to win both of his titles. He was a part-time Hoffstra University football coach at the time of his championships.

Dellarosa declined to compete in 1993, instead turning to an acting career.
10. 1988-90*

Answer: Jay Green

The 1990 contest was a tie with no tie-breaking criteria. Green and Mike DeVito shared the title. Both would end up being three-time champions.

The rules stated, prior to that year, that someone could only win twice before being "retired". The rule change allowed Green to be the first ever three time winner.
Source: Author Shadowmyst2004

This quiz was reviewed by FunTrivia editor jmorrow before going online.
Any errors found in FunTrivia content are routinely corrected through our feedback system.
Related Quizzes
This quiz is part of series Random 5:

No rhyme or reason here other than these are 5 quizzes I wrote on random topics.

  1. Nathan's Hot Dog Eating Contest Champions Easier
  2. Rottentail Average
  3. Blind Worm's Sting Average
  4. The Guild Average
  5. Dearborn Average

6/3/2023, Copyright 2023 FunTrivia, Inc. - Report an Error / Contact Us