FREE! Click here to Join FunTrivia. Thousands of games, quizzes, and lots more!
Quiz about Judo
Quiz about Judo

Judo Trivia Quiz


Contests and competitions have rules that the referee needs to enforce. But how much do you know about those rules? Take this test and see!

A multiple-choice quiz by makikomi. Estimated time: 6 mins.
  1. Home
  2. »
  3. Quizzes
  4. »
  5. Sports Trivia
  6. »
  7. Martial Arts
  8. »
  9. Judo

Author
makikomi
Time
6 mins
Type
Multiple Choice
Quiz #
262,889
Updated
Dec 03 21
# Qns
10
Difficulty
Tough
Avg Score
5 / 10
Plays
353
Last 3 plays: Guest 89 (3/10), Guest 152 (9/10), Guest 152 (3/10).
- -
Question 1 of 10
1. One of the two competitors catches his opponent with superb, well-timed throw, sending their opponent crashing on to his side. What score should be awarded? Hint


Question 2 of 10
2. During a contest, one competitor has been stiff-arming his opponent constantly. He has already received three cautions for it. What should the referee now do? Hint


Question 3 of 10
3. A five minute break is called between contests, and the referee goes to the canteen for a coffee. A competitor approaches him and questions the scores that he gave to his opponent in the last contest on which he officiated. What should the referee do? Hint


Question 4 of 10
4. At an event, it has been decided that each contest is to last four minutes. When might it be permissable for a contest to last longer than this time? Hint


Question 5 of 10
5. At the end of the contest, one player has a Yuko score, but also has two minor passive penalties against him. The other person has no scores or penalties. What should the referee do? Hint


Question 6 of 10
6. What is the term for a draw? Hint


Question 7 of 10
7. During the contest, one person gets injured. It is no-one's fault but he decides that he will be unable to continue. What should the referee do? Hint


Question 8 of 10
8. At the end of the contest, you indicate the result and the loser bows, but bad-temperedly refuses to shake hands with his opponent and storms off. What should you do?
Hint


Question 9 of 10
9. What is the correct hand signal for Matte? Hint


Question 10 of 10
10. The referee stops the contest as one player's jacket has come completely out from under his belt. He gives the signal for the player to sort this out. The player removes his belt, and then re-ties it with the jacket in its proper place. Is this correct? Hint



(Optional) Create a Free FunTrivia ID to save the points you are about to earn:

arrow Select a User ID:
arrow Choose a Password:
arrow Your Email:




Most Recent Scores
Jun 10 2024 : Guest 89: 3/10
May 25 2024 : Guest 152: 9/10
May 24 2024 : Guest 152: 3/10

Score Distribution

quiz
Quiz Answer Key and Fun Facts
1. One of the two competitors catches his opponent with superb, well-timed throw, sending their opponent crashing on to his side. What score should be awarded?

Answer: Yuko - five points

Yuko is awarded if the opponent lands on their side. Scoring in Judo depends on how the opponent lands, not on how well the technique was performed. As a competitor, it is vital that you control the opponent until they hit the mat.
2. During a contest, one competitor has been stiff-arming his opponent constantly. He has already received three cautions for it. What should the referee now do?

Answer: Consult with the line judges before disqualifying the competitor

A first offence should result in a three point penalty (a shido). After one penalty has been awarded, any repeat offences cannot be awarded the same penalty - you must increase the penalty. A second offence would warrant a chui (five point penalty), and a third would need a seven point penalty (keikoku). A fourth offence would result in disqualification - hansoku make.
3. A five minute break is called between contests, and the referee goes to the canteen for a coffee. A competitor approaches him and questions the scores that he gave to his opponent in the last contest on which he officiated. What should the referee do?

Answer: Tell the competitor that he cannot change his decision as he has left the mat area

The scoring of a contest can be called into question at any time until the referee leaves the mat. A good referee should be happy to explain their decisions, but cannot change them once they have gone off the mat. Bear in mind that during a contest, the two line judges have the opportunity to indicate if they disagree with a score that the referee has given.
4. At an event, it has been decided that each contest is to last four minutes. When might it be permissable for a contest to last longer than this time?

Answer: If one competitor secures a hold-down on their opponent before time runs out

If a hold-down is secured, the contest continues until a winning score is achieved, the hold is broken (the opponent escapes) or until there is a submission. As for the other answers: if there is an injury, the clock is stopped; if one person is wasting time, the clock is stopped and the referee should give the time-waster a penalty; and if the scores are tied at the end of a contest, a decision is given as to who has fought better.
5. At the end of the contest, one player has a Yuko score, but also has two minor passive penalties against him. The other person has no scores or penalties. What should the referee do?

Answer: Call for a judges' decision on who has won

At the first warning, the player would receive a three point penalty (Shido). The second one would result in a Chui (five point penalty). The player would therefore have a five point score, but also five points against them. These scores cancel each other out, meaning that the contest is effectively a draw. Therefore a judges' decision is needed on who has won the contest.
6. What is the term for a draw?

Answer: Hikiwake

In a true competition, draws are not used as a winner is needed. However, in promotional examination, and for some events, draws are allowed. Hajime means "begin" and is used to start (or re-start) a contest. Hantei is a call for a decision from the judges - the referee and the two line judges vote on who they think has performed better, and the winner is whoever gets more votes. Hidari mean left, as in a left-handed technique or the left hand.
7. During the contest, one person gets injured. It is no-one's fault but he decides that he will be unable to continue. What should the referee do?

Answer: Award the win to the uninjured player

If the injury was the fault of one of the uninjured player, the win could be awarded to the injured person. The injured player is normally given a set amount of time in which they can treat themselves for the injury. However, at the end of that period, the injured player cannot continue, the contest has to be decided on.
8. At the end of the contest, you indicate the result and the loser bows, but bad-temperedly refuses to shake hands with his opponent and storms off. What should you do?

Answer: Nothing

There is nothing to say that you must shake hands after a contest - to do so shows good sportsmanship, but it's not compulsory. However, bowing to your opponent shows a basic level of respect, and failure to bow can lead to a penalty.
9. What is the correct hand signal for Matte?

Answer: Arm extended away from body, palm outwards

Matte is the call for "stop", where the referee wants both players to stop and return to their starting positions. The hand signal is the arm extended away from the body, palm outwards (and should be in the direction of the timekeeper). If the hand was flat, that would be the signal for Waza-ari - a seven point score. Both hands with the palms outwards is the signal for Sono-Mama (freeze) where the referee is wanting both competitors to stop immediately in their current positions and not move. If the arm is extended above the head palm out, the referee should be calling "Ippon" - a ten point (and therefore contest-ending) score.
10. The referee stops the contest as one player's jacket has come completely out from under his belt. He gives the signal for the player to sort this out. The player removes his belt, and then re-ties it with the jacket in its proper place. Is this correct?

Answer: Only if he has checked with the referee that it is okay to untie his belt

If the referee tells you to tidy yourself up, you should not untie your belt unless you have his permission. Otherwise, he may think you are looking to waste time, and trying to get your breath back before the contest is re-started. The minimum to do is to tuck your jacket back inside the belt and tidy it up. If you need to undo the belt, check with the referee that it is okay, and then sort out your judogi (judo suit) quickly. If you appear to be wasting time, you may get a penalty - even if the referee gave permission for you to undo your belt.
Source: Author makikomi

This quiz was reviewed by FunTrivia editor Nightmare before going online.
Any errors found in FunTrivia content are routinely corrected through our feedback system.
7/18/2024, Copyright 2024 FunTrivia, Inc. - Report an Error / Contact Us