FREE! Click here to Join FunTrivia. Thousands of games, quizzes, and lots more!
Quiz about Mapping South America
Quiz about Mapping South America

Mapping South America Trivia Quiz

A continent of ancient civilizations and diverse geographical regions, South America has most of its landmass located south of the Equator. Can you correctly label the 12 South American nations on the map? Enjoy!

A label quiz by Matthew_07. Estimated time: 3 mins.
  1. Home
  2. »
  3. Quizzes
  4. »
  5. Geography Trivia
  6. »
  7. South America

3 mins
Label Quiz
Quiz #
Mar 27 22
# Qns
Avg Score
11 / 12
Top 35% Quiz
Last 3 plays: stephedm (12/12), Guest 91 (10/12), Kat1982 (1/12).
Bolivia Argentina Ecuador Uruguay Brazil Venezuela Peru Colombia Suriname Chile Guyana Paraguay
* Drag / drop or click on the choices above to move them to the answer list.

Most Recent Scores
Today : stephedm: 12/12
Today : Guest 91: 10/12
Apr 21 2024 : Kat1982: 1/12
Apr 18 2024 : Guest 38: 12/12
Apr 18 2024 : Guest 47: 12/12
Apr 18 2024 : Guest 82: 12/12
Apr 18 2024 : Guest 77: 12/12
Apr 18 2024 : Barca99: 12/12
Apr 18 2024 : Guest 23: 7/12

Quiz Answer Key and Fun Facts
1. Ecuador

The Republic of Ecuador is aptly named because the Equator passes through the nation. The country's Spanish name is República del Ecuador; and the word "Ecuador" means Equator. The capital of Ecuador, Quito, is located a mere 40 kilometers (25 miles) south of the Equator.
2. Colombia

The Republic of Colombia is named after Italian navigator Christopher Columbus. Occupying the northwestern region of the South American continent, Colombia is geographically divided into five main regions - the Andes mountain range, the Pacific Ocean coastal region, the Caribbean Sea coastal region, the tropical grassland plain (Llanos), and the Amazon rainforest.
3. Venezuela

The Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela derived its name from the word "Veneziola", which means "Little Venice". The country's famous landmarks include Angel Falls, which is the world's tallest uninterrupted waterfall.
4. Guyana

The Co‑operative Republic of Guyana borders the Atlantic Ocean to the north. Guyana is one of the world's least densely populated nations. Guyana is the only South American nation that adopts English as its official language.
5. Suriname

The Republic of Suriname is the smallest South American nation. The country borders Guyana to the west and French Guiana (an overseas department of France) to the east. Most of the country is covered by the vast tropical rainforest.
6. Peru

The Republic of Peru borders the Pacific Ocean to the west. The country is noted for its UNESCO World Heritage Site, Machu Picchu, which is an Inca citadel that is located approximately 80 kilometers (50 miles) from the Peruvian city of Cusco.
7. Brazil

The Federative Republic of Brazil is the largest country in the continent of South America. Unlike most of its neighbouring countries that adopt Spanish as their official languages, Brazil adopts Portuguese as its official language. Brazil is the only country in the world that has both the Equator and the Tropic of Capricorn passing through the nation.
8. Bolivia

The Plurinational State of Bolivia is one of the two landlocked South American nations, the other being its neighbouring country, Paraguay. Bolivia is named after Venezuelan political leader Simón Bolívar.
9. Chile

The Republic of Chile is the world's southernmost nation. The territory of the nation also includes Easter Island, which is located in Polynesia. Chile also has lands in Antarctica, called the Chilean Antarctic Territory.
10. Argentina

The Argentine Republic, or simply Argentina, is the second largest South American nation, after Brazil. The country is home to Aconcagua, which is South America's tallest mountain.
11. Paraguay

The Republic of Paraguay is a landlocked nation in South America. The Paraguay River divides the nation into two halves - the western Chaco region and the eastern Paraneña region.
12. Uruguay

The Oriental Republic of the Uruguay is the second smallest South American nation, after Suriname. It is one of the only four countries in the world that is completely located south of the Tropic of Capricorn; the other three being Eswatini, Lesotho, and New Zealand.
Source: Author Matthew_07

This quiz was reviewed by FunTrivia editor agony before going online.
Any errors found in FunTrivia content are routinely corrected through our feedback system.
4/23/2024, Copyright 2024 FunTrivia, Inc. - Report an Error / Contact Us